Love Your Own Timeline

Robi Kate Miranda
2 min readJan 30, 2022

--

Photo by Olya Kobruseva from Pexels

I have high standards — not of other people, but of myself. I have big dreams which sometimes scare me and paralyze me.

I just turned a year older this month and sometimes, I can’t help but wish for the time to stop.

It has been two years since the pandemic started. This hindered many opportunities not just for me, but for most people all around the world.

My younger self hoped that by this time (Context: I’m almost close to quarter-life crisis age) I would be able to know my path already.

But, with the rollercoaster ride for the past months, I’ve been brought to a somewhat different path.

I feel like I haven’t accomplished something big yet. I don’t have a sustainable business yet. I haven’t started my graduate studies. I am still living in my own parents’ house. But, I’m trying my best.

Then, I received this message from my past self during my birthday this year. (Btw, I used the FutureMe website for this.)

Dear FutureMe,

Your plans might be postponed but they are not canceled.

Happy birthday! I wish you all the good things you deserve.

Love,

22-year-old Robi 🌻

Then, I remember a quote from Ayn Bernos (she’s a businesswoman, podcaster, and former Miss Universe Philippines candidate), “The delay is the preparation.” The dream was delayed but it helped her prepare for her Miss Universe journey.

So, maybe, it’s the universe telling me that it’s okay for my dreams to be postponed. Because it’s preparing me to be a better and stronger person when I have already reached my dreams.

A close friend also told me, “Enjoy the ride. Your journey is better than the destination.”

Perhaps, I’m missing the point back then. But, I hope that from now on, I will be able to cherish my everyday life, my everyday journey, my everyday preparation for my bigger dreams of conquering the world.

If you’re someone who’s pressured with your own timeline or by other people’s timeline, repeat after me.

“I am enough.”

“I am where I’m meant to be.”

“From now on, I will enjoy and cherish my present moment.”

--

--

Robi Kate Miranda

Hi, I'm Robi! Welcome to my blog. Read about my advocacies, self-help tips, productivity strategies, and everything in between.