The Hidden Power of Core Values

Robi Kate Miranda
2 min readJan 8, 2022

--

Photo by Startup Stock Photos from Pexels

Last year, 2021, I was unstoppable.

I’ve tried doing a lot of things.

To name a few,
I’ve conducted workshops about personal development for students abroad.
I’ve volunteered for various non-governmental organizations inside and outside the Philippines.
I’ve given a talk to farmers and small business owners.
I’ve hosted virtual events for international programs.

Yes, it was one heck of a ride.

Did I enjoy it? Yes.

However, there were times when I felt burnout. I was so damn tired and exhausted. There are too many things on my plate but I continue on accepting opportunities — some I like while others are not really.

To be honest, even if I did a lot of “wonderful” things, even if I get out of my comfort zone, I still feel that I was not able to accomplish a lot of things last 2021.

Just 3 days before 2021 ended, I attended a life-changing event. It’s a workshop for a cause by Nikki Jurado (AKA Nomad Finance Girl). She taught me, as well as 400+ participants, about having core values.

I’ve heard about core values with different organizations and companies I’ve encountered before. But, I did not know that this can also be very impactful at an individual level.

One of the many takeaways from the workshop — “If you run after goals that are not aligned with your core values, you’re bound to fail.

Voilà! That’s it! That’s the key!

We can do all of the things that we want as long as they are aligned with our core values.

Photo by Markus Winkler from Pexels

Core values are our character. It’s how we behave. It’s our identity. No matter what happens, it’s the only thing that is constant to us.

If you’re a starter who wants to know your core values, follow this:

  1. Pick core values from this list by James Clear. Here’s the link: https://jamesclear.com/core-values.
  2. Choose your top 3–5 values. There’s no right or wrong answer here. Just pick those words you associate yourself with.
  3. After choosing your core values, go back or write your goals. Make sure that they are aligned. If not, adjust your goals.

Just a disclaimer, setting goals aligned with your core values will not exempt you from not getting tired. You will still feel exhausted some time but at least you’re getting closer to the goals that truly matter to you.

--

--

Robi Kate Miranda

Hi, I'm Robi! Welcome to my blog. Read about my advocacies, self-help tips, productivity strategies, and everything in between.