Robi Kate Miranda
2 min readApr 5, 2023

The Power of Words: Transforming Your Vocabulary for a Better Life

Photo by Ravi Kant

Words are powerful. It influences how we see, perceives, and experience the world. The words we use become us.

I’m reading the book “Awaken the Giant Within” by Anthony Robbins. One particular chapter that resonated with me is about the use of “Transformational Vocabulary.”

Let me tell you a story.

Just earlier today, I missed my alarm and overslept. As a result, I woke up late and missed the first task given to me by my work supervisor.

It’s our mechanism as human beings to describe my morning as “upsetting,” “disgusting,” or even “depressing.”

Why do humans use disempowering language to describe situations instead of choosing a more positive perspective? We can shift our mindset and outlook by focusing on the brighter side.

Honestly, I have the power to control my reaction to this situation. Although I could choose to feel saddened and disappointed in myself, I have decided to cultivate a sense of gratitude instead. My colleague kindly completed the task on my behalf, which allowed me to show my appreciation and reciprocate by helping her with other tasks to make up for my missed deadline.

This is the same thing that Anthony Robbins is preaching about. The words that we attach to our experience become our experience. Therefore, we must be extra-mindful in choosing the words that describe our emotional states.

Robbins said if we want to change our lives and shape our destiny, we need to select the words we will use consciously, and we need to strive to expand our level of choice constantly. Use words like “curious” instead of “confused,” “learning” instead of “failure,” and “challenged” instead of “overwhelmed.”

The next time you experience a challenging situation, try this strategy. Break the cycle of being instantly furious or enraged. Instead, try to lighten the mood by using words that empower you.

At the end of the day, let’s not forget that it’s essential to acknowledge that our feelings and emotions are valid, and this isn’t about promoting toxic positivity. However, avoiding letting negative thoughts and emotions drain your energy for longer than necessary is crucial.

Change your habitual vocabulary so you can instantaneously change how you think, feel, and live.

The words we use to describe our experiences and emotions significantly impact our lives. By choosing empowering words and reframing negative thoughts, we can transform our mindset and outlook on life. Remember that it’s okay to acknowledge negative emotions, but it’s essential to avoid letting them consume us.

Let’s live a life with empowering and transformative vocabulary.

Note: Reading Anthony Robbin’s book “Awaken The Giant Within” complements Quintessence — The Q Program I attended last January 2023. Read my thoughts about this transformational program in this link.

Robi Kate Miranda

Hi, I'm Robi! Welcome to my blog. Read about my advocacies, self-help tips, productivity strategies, and everything in between.