This is why you should start early.

Robi Kate Miranda
2 min readAug 8, 2021

--

“If you hate risk and worry, start early.” -Robert Kiyosaki

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

I have been reading Robert Kiyosaki’s “Rich Dad, Poor Dad” and I must say that every page consists of important life lessons. One of the many things that reinforce my life’s mindset is his idea of taking risks, starting early, and failing early.

For a long time, I’ve been a risk-averse person. I’d always rather be in the safe zone than risk my relationship with other people, career, money, and life because of my fear of failure. I’d rather be in my comfort zone than expose myself to danger and personal disappointments.

Later on in life, I’ve noticed that this fear of failure and losing only led me to fail and lose. I’ve realized that I should stop being reluctant. I need to sail my ship and conquer the ocean of vast opportunities.

Photo by Georges Tomazou from Pexels

This year, just like last year, has not been easy. To avoid being drowned by the anxiety brought by the pandemic, I started looking and creating opportunities for myself.

Inspired by the philosophy of starting fast and failing fast, I started joining local opportunities, then international opportunities. To be honest, I’ve received multiple rejections. Indeed, I win some, I lose some. But, more than the things I’ve lost, I learn and earn more experiences and memories I will bring to move forward in life.

As Robert Kiyosaki shared in his book, “If you hate risk and worry, start early.” I dare you to start doing what you really want to do. Don’t let failures hinder your progress, rather let failures inspire you to be better. If you really want to win in life, today is the perfect time to start taking action and taking risks. And as Fran Tarkenton said, “Be unafraid to lose.”

--

--

Robi Kate Miranda

Hi, I'm Robi! Welcome to my blog. Read about my advocacies, self-help tips, productivity strategies, and everything in between.